At the farmers market // Sunnyvale, CA

Sunnyvale has such a surprisingly lively farmers market. In the summer months, it’s usually held along the downtown street (because there’s just 1 downtown street, and it’s a block long), which gives it a really nice backdrop and shade.

I had just rented the 50mm/1.2 an hour prior, and decided to try it out at the farmers market. It just suited me to a tee. It was like slipping on an old pair of jeans. It also drew enough attention for 3 people to ask me about it (which is about 300% more comments than I normally get).

(Dang, I miss that lens already.)

IMG_2142pp-text2storyboard-1storyboard-5storyboard-2storyboard-10storyboard-9storyboard-3storyboard-7storyboard-6storyboard-4storyboard-8

20 thoughts on “At the farmers market // Sunnyvale, CA

  1. I need to rent a fancy lens someday so when I’m on my deathbed I can say I really lived! ;) LOOOVE the shot of the little boy next to the grape tomatoes. Perfect composition. I always love your Farmer’s Market posts!

  2. Oh my god, I miss California farmers markets! (I just moved to Brooklyn, and the farmer’s markets are meh in comparison—and super pricy too)
    These photos are GORGEOUS—I want to get down to f/1.2! The lowest I can go is 2.8 on my zoom.

  3. There’s some thing about Farmers Markets that is almost magical. Maybe it’s because it’s the way we should be getting our food. Local, Natural, and personal. Thanks for sharing

  4. OK, you’ve convinced me to rent this lens to see how much I like it. I still haven’t gotten used to the 35mm… 50mm hits the right spot for me. Always love your farmer’s market images – so colorful!

Leave a Reply

