A tour of Alcatraz

storyboard-1

A few weeks ago, I alluded to some weekend plans of fog and a prison. Of course, being a San Francisco bay area person, it’ll come as no surprise that I meant I was visiting Alcatraz. My first time! I thought it’d be a group of 30 following a shouting tour guide around a dark creepy prison. But instead, it was a group of several hundred (which is just a small fraction of the day tours!) listening to an audio tour. Well, still very interesting.

Funnily enough, right after this tour, I saw the 1996 movie “the Rock” on tv, which I watched solely to see how it matched up to the tour. The answer: not at all. I think there were about 2 shots actually inside the prison. A few exterior shots, too, of course. And many, many shots of the “secret underground” full of flamethrowers, tunnels, and water chambers (which were sadly not highlighted during the tour).

storyboard-comp-1storyboard-comp-2storyboard-comp-3

13 thoughts on “A tour of Alcatraz

  1. LOVE your perspectives. I went there once in high school and that was enough for me. Never mind the hordes of people they put through during tourist season, but I had chills up the back of my neck the entire time. Creepy!

  2. Very cool shots from Alcatraz Jacqueline. Didn’t get a chance to visit that place yet but I will have to after seeing these. Looks like a fairly historical place :D

  3. I’ve never been to Alcatraz so your tour through the Rock is a real treat. Fantastic variety of shots that really speak to the feel of the place. That weather was pretty fitting too!

  4. You mean you didn’t go on the underground mine-cart roller coaster ride of death!? You missed out, Jackie.
    Seriously, though, great images! It’s been like 10 years since I’ve been to Alcatraz.

Leave a Reply

