Patterson House (part 3 of 3)

Here we go on the last part of the Patterson House tour (see part 1 and part 2)!

The kitchen & dining room
The kitchen was full of interesting knickknacks (and multiple sinks). Also, that wooden cupboard? That was where they kept ice (their icebox). There was a small room between the kitchen and dining room — that was where they had a phone! And new to me — since the dishes and silverware were traditionally the most expensive (small) items of the household, servants weren’t trusted with them, so the lady of the house would wash and put them away herself.
storyboard-comp-4

The family room
This room was for the family’s recreation and leisure, where the children and parents could play together.
storyboard-comp-5

Outside the house
Some exterior shots, including their outhouse.
storyboard-comp-6

Thanks for joining me on this tour! If you’re in the San Francisco bay area and want a fun afternoon, try out Ardenwood Farm (and take the tour of the Patterson House!). We will definitely go back (there was so much more to see!). Happy weekend, folks.

15 thoughts on “Patterson House (part 3 of 3)

  1. Thank you for the views of the Patterson House. This is very interesting. I like this time, I like to read about and watch movies. The house is so well preserved. I do not know if you have the already mentioned, but what about the family that lived there before?

    • Thank you! There was no family that lived here before — George Patterson built it himself as a bachelor pad originally (then added on the rest of the house a few decades later). Only the Pattersons have lived there. :)

  2. Interesting… Beautiful series! They’re too nice Jackie. So nice that I may go this weekend! But I know I can’t top your pics. I just have to see these myself and have them captured

  3. I love that they kept everything preserved, but I also feel a bit sad that no other families enjoyed a warm beautiful home like that. Crazy, I know. :)

  4. This series has been really great! I love history and stuff like this. The house is so extensive and impressively preserved. Your photos of it are amazing. Thanks for taking us along for the tour! (Sorry if this is a repeat – looks like my first comment didn’t go through).

  5. Pingback: howie221

  6. I am glad you enjoyed our house… We are open for tours Thursday through Sunday, April to November…

    The house is surprisingly original… some of the wall paper is 120 years old. Three generations of the Patterson Family lived here for about 110 years. One great grand daughter is a docent.

    Randy Hees
    Patterson House manager

Leave a Reply

