Some news!

I have some fun news — I’m excited share with you the release of my portfolio!

portfolio screenship

I have to say, putting together a portfolio is such hard work! I’ve been working on it for about a month now. I went through many, many sites before finally settling on one. It took me an absurdly long time to understand the difference between a registrar and a host. I was suddenly starkly aware of the limits of my photographic skills. I hopelessly grappled with CSS before realizing that my fiance knew some CSS (and suddenly the whole coding process was much easier!)

So, a world of thanks goes to my fiance for all his coding and being so patient with all my frustrations and constant, never-ending questions. And thank you all for being with me on this journey! All your visits, comments, tweets, and continued support are so much appreciated.

And within a month or two, if all goes well, I hope to share with you some details about a photography side project. I’m excited (and nervous) about it! Hopefully more details to follow. Stay tuned!

19 thoughts on “Some news!

  1. OMG! yay! i am off to check it out right now. and your whole story sounds painfully familiar lol.

    congrats and i can’t wait to hear about your side project!

  2. Yay! I <3 your photographic eye so much, the portfolio looks great! How difficult was this to code yourself? I like the simplicity of the website and haven't found anything quite so nice and easy on the paid services I've been exploring.

    • Thanks! Not difficult to code at all — 98% of it was done via the menu, not through coding. The only thing that required coding was inserting the header to the right size, and (on my About page) putting my pic and text next to each other. Lemme know if you have any more questions!

  3. Your website looks fantastic. Simple, clean, elegant, eclectic, the site seems to perfectly match your photographic vision. And you know how I know you nailed it? Looking at it makes me starkly aware of your super photographic skills! Both your style and your ability to see have had an influence on my latest work (can you tell???). You should be very proud of what you have accomplished. Oh, and the shot with the umbrella against the sky? Stinking magical!

  4. Love how it turned out, it really matches perfectly with your style! And I totally know the feeling, nothing makes you feel more lacking/inept/scared/crazy than when you’re trying to put it all together! :)

  5. Jacqueline, you already know I adore your photos. They are simplistic and wonderful and always tell a story. I loved looking at your portfolio. Congratulations and I can’t wait to see more great work from you :)

  6. Hooray! A happy day, indeed. :) And don’t worry about not knowing much in the way of making websites. I do – and all that means is that I didn’t have any friends in high school and just dicked around on a computer every day after school instead of having a ‘normal’ social life. I’ll take social skills over computer skills any day of the week ;)

  7. Jackie, I’m so thrilled for you! You know I’ve been a fan of your photography for a long time now – it’s only natural that you take this next step. I can’t wait to watch you go from one success to the next.

  8. Congratulations. Your portfolio is lovely. And it looks really good and elegant. I really like to look at the different photos. I have no preference, I like all your photos very much.
    Your presentation (about) is wonderful. Nice to see the people behind the blog.

    Have a good week!

  9. what beauitfully put-together profolio! I can’t wait to find out what your side project will be!!

    btw, on my firefox, I can’t see the photo of you on your “about” page, but i can see it on my explorer browser. not sure if this is just my firefox version, but just thought you may want to see if it’s happening on other people’s firebox browser.

  10. Thank you, John! :)

    Thanks much, Karleen! And thanks for the heads up about my photo on the about page. I can see it in my firefox browser but… hmm, this’ll be something to keep my eye on. Thanks again!

  11. Congratulations Jacqueline! Great work; love the new website/portfolio!! Looking forward to seeing more of your brilliant captures!

Leave a Reply

