The best day of the week

storyboard-1

So this weekend, I am going to rent the 35mm/1.4. That is L glass — the most optimum quality, pro-grade glass you can get with Canon. (And of course, its price reflects this.) I’ve never even touched L glass before. But that focal length and aperture is just so perfect for me… just so perfect. So I must try it.

Right now, I have a 35mm/2 lens, which was a good ol’ lens. (This picture above was taken with this lens.) Part of me hopes that there’s not much difference between the 35mm/1.4 and my 35mm/2 lens. Then I can be satisfied with what I have and continue living a frugal and simplistic life, nary a materialistic care in the world.

Or the 35mm/1.4 will blow my lens out of the water, and I’ll decide that I simply CANNOT LIVE without the lens and must have it right NOW. Then I’ll immediately purchase the lens before the weekend is over.

I’ll let you know on Monday how things turned out (with updates over Twitter). Anyone else have any fun plans for the weekend? Happy Friday!

PS: These are Venus Fly Traps! How cool is that? They were so wee. I wished they were larger, but wee is cute too.

11 thoughts on “The best day of the week

  1. Waiting to see pics from the 1.4 already! Don’t touch L lenses! It’s an epidemic ! Have to work on Saturday, but have plans to visit Moma on Sunday =) Have a L-ice weekend!

  2. Oh no! You got me started this week on that lens already! I think it was on your twitter that I saw the link to Simply Stardust’s blog and the same lens?? It sent me and my husband on a diversion of lens browsing online. We’re thinking we will get the 35mm/2 lens first due to the cheaper price. I just love this line “Then I can be satisfied with what I have and continue living a frugal and simplistic life, nary a materialistic care in the world.” And then followed by this one.. “Or the 35mm/1.4 will blow my lens out of the water, and I’ll decide that I simply CANNOT LIVE without the lens and must have it right NOW. Then I’ll immediately purchase the lens before the weekend is over.” It sounds so much like me! Can’t wait to see what you capture with it. I’m wondering if the posting of the Venus Fly Trap is intentional? Because that 35mm/1.4 sounds awfully like a fly trap waiting to capture your wallet and heart!

  3. @ Howie: Can’t wait to see some MOMA pics! And I know, I think L lens will prove to be so dangerous…

    @ Lucent: LOL! I’ve actually been coveting that lens for over a year, but since my rental place was offering a discount on renting it this week, I just had to try it. Actually, when I made this diptych, I never thought it related to the post. But now that you mention it, who knows! That is a brilliant theory.

  4. Jackie, after agonizing for almost a year about whether to get the 35 1.4, I finally went for the plunge a few months ago and bought one. Since I use a crop body in the 7D, the wider perspective has helped me a lot in tight restaurant settings and the overall quality of the images across the aperature range definitely surpasses those from my 50mm 1.4. From what I’ve seen from the lens paired with a 5D, full frame results are fantastic. Looking forward to seeing your results from the trial run!

  5. I think you’re going to have a lot of fun trying to figure out which lens will be for you lol. That’s how I feel when I get a new techy toy. Enjoy the weekend and let us know which lens you love. Happy Easter

  6. Congrats on the new 35mm f1.4L that you’re totally about to buy. A lens that the rental company will have to tear from your hands when it’s time to give it back. This is exactly how I bought my 24mm f1.4: Rented it for three days, and could not BARE the thought of living without it. Bye bye wallet! =P

  7. Ohhh lawd that will be so tempting! Right now I’m satisfying myself by promising if I get certain things done I can order a few Photojojo goodies, including their wide angle/macro converter kit. :) Can’t wait to see your results! I’m going thrifting with my girlfriends tomorrow and spending Easter Sunday with my BFFs family since my parents will be out of town for their 30th anniversary. :)

  8. Your photos are already beautiful – I’ll be eager to see the results. I’d say photo gear is definitely a Venus fly trap!

  9. Thanks, everyone!

    @ John: Yeah, I think that focal length is a MUST on APS-C’s. I like to hear that in comparison to the 50mm/1.4… Good to know.

    @ Jonathan: Truer words have never been spoken.

    @ Trude: Actually, I have that converter! It’s pretty cool, although I got it sized for my Sigma 30mm, which is not FF-compatible, so I can’t use it (until I buy another filter).

Leave a Reply

