Traveling backward in time at the Railroad Museum

IMG_2436pp

The California State Railroad Museum in Sacramento will take you backward in time. By stepping into the trains, you can feel firsthand how Americans rode the rails and explored the frontier. The Museum houses different types of trains, such as postal trains, but what stole my heart were the passenger trains. A passenger train was divided into different cars for riding, sleeping, dining, or general relaxing — complete with cushioned chairs, candles, and full-sized tables and beds. There was something very romantic and cozy about it all.

IMG_2509ppIMG_2524ppIMG_2485ppIMG_2499ppIMG_2469pp

13 thoughts on “Traveling backward in time at the Railroad Museum

  1. very very cool! love how cozy that small room is with the typewriter. we took the amtrak train from chicago to utah. our bed was not as comfy looking as the ones here, ha!

  2. This is perfect! I recently finished reading a book called The Age of Dreaming set in the 1910s and 1920s and some of it is set on a train. It’s nice to imagine that it might have been a train such as the one in your photos. To be taken back in time for only a day would be wonderful.

  3. Oh so beautiful! I’ve always wanted to take an overnight sleeper train, so romantic! :) I’m definitely hitting that museum next time I’m in Sac.

  4. Wow, these are fantastic. I personally love this time period and I love even more feeling like I’m actually there for a moment. Your photographs really transport me.

  5. WOW, I’m so glad you posted this. They rode in absolute luxury, decadence, and sophistication. If the train looked like this now, I would skip the plane any day. These photos are absolutely breathtaking.

Leave a Reply

