California Academy of Sciences

Under the sea

For Christmas, we got a wonderful gift: 2 tickets to the California Academy of Sciences! I’d never been, so I was so excited to go. It was an amazing experience — there was a huge aquarium, enclosed rainforest area, IMAX theater, and many more exhibits. The only downside was that it was incredibly difficult to photograph, because of the very dim lighting in the aquarium coupled with the direct bright overhead lighting that shined on everything else. But otherwise, I can’t wait to go again (and this time, see how my “new” camera can handle the same conditions).

FishHuman JourneySmall fishesB&wGirls & penguin

14 thoughts on “California Academy of Sciences

  1. Didn’t see your black and white picture previously or maybe you didn’t upload it last time, but it’s great. The triangular composition with a fish up the middle almost seem majestic =P

  2. I agree with Karleen, the first one really rocks. I had the exact same experience with my first visit to this museum. I went during “Nightlife.” The next time you go, definitely go during the Nightlife event. 21 and up only, and they serve drinks. Oh yeesssss.

    Anyway, I had my old camera there too, and wasn’t as experienced, so my photos were kinda meh. I too can’t wait to get back there with my new rig. =)

  3. I LOVE the last photo, oh my goodness! I can’t get over it. Do they have seals or sea lions at the acadamy? They’re my weakness and I’d love to get up close to them like that. :)

  4. It’s so strange, I have several images that are so startlingly similar it’s spooky… specifically because I have never even posted them anywhere, let alone processed them.

    Great minds, eh? Anyway, all lovely.

  5. I’ve always wanted to go there! Next time I’m up in the area, for sure. And that first image? Needs to be submitted to some kind of competition or something! :)

  6. Thanks so much, everyone!

    @ Jonathan: Oh, “nightlife” sounds very cool. I’d love to see the place after dark.

    @ Sally: Hmm, I don’t think they have seals or sea lions, that I saw. But they have cute penguins!

    @ Jasmine: Interesting! I will definitely be on the lookout for those pics if you post them. I love seeing different perspectives.

  7. I think the lighting disadvantage was probably an advantage – though you couldn’t get the fishies, the first shot and the lighting in it is really, reallly, really epic-ly awesome-ly lovely. :)

  8. Pingback: A visit to the California Academy of Sciences | A Happy Day

Leave a Reply

