Going to the carnival

We went to a local carnival held at a local church last week. It was fun just to walk around and take in the sights, but we are much too old to ride the rides anymore. Sad — I remember loving these types of carnivals when I was younger. That ride with all the swings, the one that whirls around and around? That was my favorite. But I guess fun can be had as a spectator and/or photographer.

Oh, and this was one of the few times I wished I had a tripod with me; these types of atmospheres are perfect for long exposure shots. The longest exposure I could get was 1/10th of a second (for the first shot below). Oh well.

Carnival at St. Joseph of Cupertino Church and Parish
10110 N. De Anza Blvd
Cupertino, CA

2 thoughts on “Going to the carnival

  1. Okay, I’m still doing the math to figure out if I’m tall enough to ride the rides…LOL! I love these night shots. I’m still trying to experiment, but I think this means I’m going to have to shell out for a new lens and camera and a speedlight this holiday season. I am in love with the circular ferris wheel shot you took..the lights are mesmerizing.

  2. Ha! I think you’re tall enough. :P Dude, I took this with my 50mm/1.4, no flash or speedlight or anything. Just a steady hand. You can definitely take these night shots with yours!

    Can’t wait to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

