The life of peonies

I got these peonies as a gift. They were still growing; some were still in tight buds. Within an hour of putting them into water, all of them opened.

It always astounds me at how quickly peonies change their bud shape. It’s almost surreal.

The next day, they were all open and a gorgeous hot pink color…
IMG_3725pp2

Two days later, they expanded even more but began losing color…
IMG_3766pp

And two days later than that, they turned completely white and the petals fell…
IMG_3920pp

I couldn’t bear to throw them away (does anyone else ever feel like this?), so my husband had to eventually dispose of them for me. I’ve been on the lookout for more, but haven’t found any (good ones) yet.

8 thoughts on “The life of peonies

  1. Wow! I’ve never noticed those extreme changes in color in my peonies. I can’t bear to get rid of flowers either, so don’t worry, you’re not alone in this. I love the first image!

  2. So lovely. I rarely buy flowers so I forget that they go through these stages! I wouldn’t have been able to throw them out either. :)

  3. Pingback: Still Life of Pink Peonies | INSPIRE YOUR HEART

Leave a Reply

